Conversation The Forum
Helper icon Helpers: Chris2mates , LLstill , PrincessFruitBat

About us

Midsummer's Eve is a free online dating community - based around friendship, real meetups, real people, and real relationships. We've been online since 1999 and have twice won Radio 2's Web Site of the Day award. So why not join us for free and join in the discussion?

Managerial skills...

Male
brisinger  Male  Lancashire 10-Oct-2019 23:42 Message #4757374
or lack of them. Thoughts?
Male
Beach  Male  Somerset 11-Oct-2019 01:04 Message #4757377
I don't need managerial skills anymore because, blissfully, my life (these days) is cast adrift from any form of discipline, structure or regimented order!
Male
terry  Male  West Yorkshire 11-Oct-2019 01:49 Message #4757379
I was a useless manager, in my opinion the main, and first skill a manager should have is the ability to communicate, the second is to know how to choose the right person for the job in hand.
Most managers I've known fail on both counts.
Male
tumbled  Male  Gloucestershire 11-Oct-2019 02:28 Message #4757381
There's the 'Peter Principle' in most lines of work.....where they work their way up the ladder and the position they end up in is the one where they won't be going any further....so they stay there...

Often the reason for not going any further are that they are not really any good at it....so don't 'qualify' for promotion to the next level......

It often seems to happen when you move up from , for instance, trainee starting grade ( perhaps grade 1 ), through the grades, well done, well done, then when you reach grade 6 for instance...which happens to be a 'Management' grade....you no longer use the skills you have picked up along the way, eg factory worker, Fork Lift driver or an IT Tech or something....and now find yourself in a whole different role....