Conversation The Common Room
Helper icon Helpers: Chris2mates , LLstill , PrincessFruitBat

About us

Midsummer's Eve is a free online dating community - based around friendship, real meetups, real people, and real relationships. We've been online since 1999 and have twice won Radio 2's Web Site of the Day award. So why not join us for free and join in the discussion?

Be very aware if you have a pub lunch or dinner

check the car park signs

Female
Victoriana11  Female  Buckinghamshire 6-Dec-2018 15:54 Message #4730321
2 weeks ago we stopped off at pub for a quick lunch as we were running late and I was hungry. It was pouring with rain so we dashed into the pub which was very quiet as it was about 2.15pm Meal was... ok'ish nothing special, and we were in & out within 1 hour and 5 mins.

What was the problem you ask ? Yesteday in the post I got a fine for £85 . It appears that I didnt register my car number in the pub on their iPad. I didnt know you had to, I've never done it before and no-one said anything when we were shown to the table. The pub is part of a very well known chain and I am amazed to find that their carparks are being run by some Europrk company who have put signs up everywhere saying you have to register in the pub or be fined. Its not the sort of thing I expected in a pub carpark and certainly didnt see any signs in our dash thru the rain . It also appears that nearly all of this chain of pubs are doing it now. I checked up on them.

This is the only pub carpark in my whole life, that I have ever had to register my No plate in order to not get a fine. amd believe me I have been in a few in my life.

I am going to contest it anyway

So be warned everyone.
Male
TheHermit  Male  Oxfordshire 6-Dec-2018 16:00 Message #4730322
I,ve been warned about that one. Pubs are doing it around here. Supermarkets do it too.
Male
tumbleweed  Male  Gloucestershire 6-Dec-2018 16:33 Message #4730323