Writer Male (72) from Cornwall

Me, chronologically... apologies if it reads like an obituary!
Exmouth born, oldest of 4.
Social worker, 10 years, trained Nottingham; ran kids' homes in London, Bedford, probation hostels in Northampton/Bradford, front line emergency social worker Nottingham.
Once married to paramedic/casualty sister in Royal Infirmary, Derby, where I co-ran a family treatment unit as a social worker.
Following a divorce, roamed N. America for 4 years from Louisiana to Alaska, after working with kids in Maine.
Returned to UK pursuing life as a photojournalist and lecturing on my adventures to schools and colleges and one-man shows in theatres throughout the southwest, and long chats on BBC Radio Devon. They introduced me as "a pen, a camera, a notepad and a mountain bike are the tools of this man's trade... and, the guy once attacked by an orangutan!"
I wrote for the Independent and Sunday Telegraph, and countless magazines on walking, cycling, cars and canoes, and a beautiful Portuguese glossy, translated, that I could never read, only appreciate the pictures!
My assignments ranged from expedition photographer in Malaysia and Mongolia, Land Rover events in Patagonia and Mongolia, cycling round Ulster, the Rio Grande in Texas and, Jamaica... until they nicked the bike! There was also an aid run to Russia, ascending Ben Nevis, Scafell and Snowdon in under 23 hours and countless other adventures on bike, foot and hoof from Spain's Picos Mountains to North Borneo. And I bought a Land Rover to clear landmines and delivered it to Bosnia along with other aid for war victims, which probably helped a nomination for a Humanitarian Journalist Award. I'm also an Honorary Sheriff in Louisiana following an unfortunate brush with a double killer in New Orleans.
I was lucky enough in 1988 to find my long-lost father, living reclusively on Dartmoor. I knew him happily for 2 years before he died, leaving me a sizeable estate in the national park which I ran as a centre for groups, reunions, courses and respite for cancer sufferers (with whom I was a trustee).
I down-sized eventually and now live in a cottage with hedgehogs beside the Tamar in the shadow of Brunel's iconic bridge. I'm a trustee with a handicapped Tavistock charity and still scribble features occasionally for the Saltash paper. I was recently persuaded to do a talk/exhibition of my many photographs during the local regatta, which made some decent money for St. Luke's Hospice and the RNLI.
Otherwise, I keep the weeds at bay, feed the huge Saltash population of sparrows on my birdtable and occasionally take my bicycle around the reservoir, wash my little-used campervan and jump on trains to Europe to catch Rolling Stones gigs.
I'm seeking a good lady who sympathises with the above (and nags me to tidy my lounge) with whom to share my life, probably from 45-65. I like to think I'm friendly, funny, outward looking, approachable and generous, though I'd much prefer others to form their own opinions of me.

About me
Detailed facts Hobbies and interests Hopes and dreams

Basic facts icon About me

I'm 72 years old and come from Cornwall in the United Kingdom. I'm single with no kids. I'm 5' 10" tall and of average build. I don't smoke and I drink occasionally. I'm here for dating, friendship and hobbies and interests.

Email confirmed   Confirmed
Address checked Not yet!
Membership level I'm a level 5 member.

Message icon Send message

Compose a message to Writer

Please log in to send me a message.



Forward icon Make contact with Writer. Join or login now.