Conversation Society, News and Sport
Helper icon Helpers: Chris2mates , LLstill , PrincessFruitBat

About us

Midsummer's Eve is a free online dating community - based around friendship, real meetups, real people, and real relationships. We've been online since 1999 and have twice won Radio 2's Web Site of the Day award. So why not join us for free and join in the discussion?

Stop and Search

Should the police have more powers to do this

Male
Templar2013  Male  South East London 9-Aug-2019 09:45 Message #4748056
It’s been argued that it is an effective way of combatting knife crime in particular.
Male
RumBassiousPenguin  Male  Essex 9-Aug-2019 09:50 Message #4748057
Totally agree. "You're carrying a knife"! "Yeah but I won't use it"....so why carry it?
Male
Hierophant  Male  East Anglia 9-Aug-2019 10:11 Message #4748059
Rather like with the gun problem in the USA, radical, perhaps unpalatable action, is required to deal with our knife problem.
I'm no expert, but it does seem most (but not all) of those killed and injured by knives are young black men - it seems gang culture amongst this particular group dictates the use of knives.
It seems logical then, if stop and search happens and is to work effectively, most (but not all) of those stopped will be young black men. Shouts of police racism then ensue.
It's a tough one but something needs to be done to stop these people killing themselves...
Male
mancers  Male  Greater Manchester 9-Aug-2019 11:08 Message #4748067
The pussyfooting around has been going on for decades, tougher punishment , curfews , more intelligence of shipment of drugs.
We also need somewhere for the teenagers to go youth clubs etc which were closed down for austerity
give the kids a purpose in life.
Female
wonderoushen  Female  Gwynedd 9-Aug-2019 11:59 Message #4748074