Frances1803 Female (65) from Tyne and Wear

Quiet, shy, intelligent, pedantic, sensitive, kind, opinionated, ornery, dry sense of humour.
Likes: books, more books, gardening, animals, drinking, religions (Christianity, Eastern religion and philosophy), the countryside, the seaside, green issues
Work and background: I'm an assistant in a pathlab in Leeds, although I have no scientific training (that's why I'm an assistant). I have a BA in Humanities.
I'm open about this. It would be nice to go on the odd date. I was very happy with my second husband, but he died in 2008. I haven't been doing much since, and it's time I became a bit more sociable.
I don't mind meeting someone with 'baggage', and he doesn't always have to see a glass as half-full! Dark areas, as long as they're not all-encompassing, can make a man more interesting.

Basic facts icon About me

I'm 65 years old and come from Tyne and Wear in the United Kingdom. I'm widowed with one child. I'm 5' 6" tall and of average build. I don't smoke and I like a drink. I'm here for dating and friendship.

Detailed facts icon My detailed facts

Hair colour Blonde
Hair style Straight
Eyes Blue
Glasses For reading only
Tattoos None
Piercings One or two - discreet
Attractiveness Quite attractive
Ethnicity White - British
Education University
Job Health profession
Income Medium income
Smoking Never smoked
Drinking Socially and sometimes at home
Drugs In my past
Food Vegetarian
Politics Left of centre
Religion Spiritual
Practising Sometimes
Children 1
More children I don't want to have (more) children

Hobbies and interests icon My hobbies and interests

Cooking I like eating, less so cooking. I think Jamie Oliver's 30 minute meals take far too long. I'm more of a 5 to10 minute woman.
Shopping Love it, but use the net alot, as I don't like crowds.
DIY Pathetic, but trying (probably in more ways than one).
Housework Like to have a clean house, just don't like housework.
Dining out I like most foods, especially Indian or Japanese.
Movies Favourite films; Dean Spanley, Everything is Illuminated, Crash, Horton hears a Who, Christmas Carol (Alastair Sim, but loved The Muppets too).
Theatre Don't like the theatre much. The actors seem so self-conscious.
Music I play some classical. I like traditional Irish music, also Van Morrison.
Gigs I'm a noise avoider.
Pubs I like pubs, but don't go much as I'm on my own.
Clubbing Never did it; don't want to.
Newspapers and magazines Sunday Times or Independent occasionally, otherwise Metro. I never buy magazines, but frequently read the ones others at work have bought (so know all about Katie Price/Alex Reed etc.)
Books My favourites The Master and Margarita, Never Let Me Go, A Christmas Carol. Like thrillers, especially Scandinavian ones - they're very atmospheric. Just read Blake's Diary by, I think, Martin Howard. It was hilarious.
TV I watch very little TV. I tend to read instead.
Watching sport I don't watch sport, or care who wins what.
Playing sport Shudder..............
Hobbies I'm a hypotherapist. My husband was diabetic, and also a very good subject, so I helped him alot with it. I meant to start my own business, but haven't yet. It's more of a hobby these days.

Hopes and dreams icon My hopes and dreams

In ten years I see myself I'd like to be a Granny, and living nearer to my daughter (she's in Newcastle). I'd like to be doing more creative things in my life, as I used to before I moved to Leeds.
Who would I invite to a dinner party? I'd invite Mum, Dad and my brother Colin - all dead now. If my late husband could appear to me, I could think of better things to do with him than eat dinner!
My ideal date A quiet pub, good conversation, some laughs.
What would I never, ever give up? Having a garden. I'm a tree hugger. I also love having pets. Oh - also alcohol. Well, that's three things.
If I had to give a speech on a subject I was passionate about ... Wilfred Owen's poetry.
If I could visit anywhere in the world at any time in history Cornwall now.
If I had a million pounds to give to charity Something which helps humans, animals and the environment - if there is one.
My "and finally" section ... Basically, I don't much like being on my own. I would like to have someone to do things for and with, to think about, and, to some extent, structure my day around.

Email confirmed
Confirmed
Membership level
I'm up to member level 3.

Message icon Send message

Compose a message to Frances1803

Please log in to send me a message.



Forward icon Make contact with Frances1803. Join or login now.

Friendship icon My friends