Engineer Male (74) from Staffordshire

NOTE - FOR SOME REASON I CAN NOT SEND MESSAGES ON THIS SITE AND I DON'T UNDERSTAND WHY. IF YOU WANT TO CONTACT ME FIRST PLEASE DON'T HESITATE, HOWEVER I PROBABLY CAN'T REPLY EITHER SO PLEASE EMAIL ME (harryburnham@yahoo.com) I was born in 1945 and we lived in a council house until I was an early teen, when my father bought us a house to live in. I attended the local village primary school, passed the 11 plus and went to Grammar School until I was 17. At that point I was fed up with education and started work. I later took a degree course with the Open University, gaining a first. I worked for various companies, getting redundancy in 1990 when I started as a freelance and earned more than I ever had before, and made more profit than the large firm from which I had taken redundancy.

At the age of 10 I managed to catch Polio, which has left me with two rather weak legs, but has not stopped me doing anything I really wanted to - riding motorbikes, driving cars and flying aircraft. However I can't dance and as I have aged I have become less agile. Apart from that my health is generally good, with mild hypertension (who hasn't?) and a few extra pounds (ditto). My hair is eggshell grey, number 2 cut. I normally slop around in comfortable clothes but I can wear a lounge or dinner suit if the occasion warrants it - I don't scrub up too bad. My friends of the female persuasion tell me I have a nice bum, but I can't see it myself.

I like to think of myself as a gentleman, although perhaps a bit of a rough diamond. Educated as a scientist, trained as an engineer, I have spent most of my life making, mending, servicing and tuning all sorts of stuff, for myself, for friends, and for money. Now supposedly retired and working harder than ever. I like live music of many sorts, theatre (pro or am-dram), outdoor activities (but not strenuous ones; I'm built for comfort, not speed), eating out and going away and seeing places. My friends of the female persuasion tell me I have a nice bum.
I am looking for somebody like me, but without the dangly bits. ALREADY LIVING IN UK - not from Russia, Estonia, Phillipines, Nigeria or any other benighted country. Ideally a professional or business lady, about the same age and having had the same experiences (apart from Polio, obviously). Preferably not religious, definitely a non-smoker, good sense of humour, who loves both eating out as well as doing nice food for dinner parties, is happy to go to a local folk club, 1960s rock concert, a classical music concert, or a Gilbert and Sullivan light opera as well as a London show of a major rock musical. I don't care about colour of eyes, hair or skin (* see below)- I'm more interested in sense of humour, kindness, caring, and a positive approach to life and its many problems. I want to date with the possibility of a committed long term relationship but I have to pre-warn you that I have a widow's pension from my late wife's employer which will cease if I re-marry, and I would need a lot of good reason to give up an income that could provide us with a fortnight's Caribbean cruise each winter.

* Skin should be all the same colour - i.e. NO TATTOOS and the only man-made holes in it should be in the ears, nowhere else.

About me
Detailed facts Hobbies and interests Hopes and dreams

Basic facts icon About me

I'm 74 years old and come from Staffordshire in the United Kingdom. I'm widowed with no kids. I'm 5' 9" tall and of cuddly build. I don't smoke and I like a drink. I'm here for dating.

Email confirmed   Confirmed
Address checked Not yet!
Membership level I'm up to member level 3.

Message icon Send message

Compose a message to Engineer

Please log in to send me a message.



Forward icon Make contact with Engineer. Join or login now.