Argonaut Male (73) from Lancashire

N.B. The current Profile photo of me playing a guitar was taken about 17 years ago - I am not attempting to deceive anyone with respect to my looks (there are other photos of me in my Galleries) - it's just a temporary measure until I can come up with a better, more recent, one.

“Oh would some power the giftie gie us,
to see ourselves as others see us.”

(Robert Burns – To A Louse)

Wouldn't it be great if that was possible? Unfortunately , no two people see the same things, especially when it comes to individuals – so, the best I can do is describe myself as I hope most people see me.

Yes, I'm a pedantic ol' bugger at times but only when it comes to Facts and Acts - I try to get things right so is it not unreasonable to expect others to put a bit of effort into it? Having said that, I don't expect perfection, of myself or others – that's boring – and leaves no scope for improvement. I am intelligent and fairly well read in many of the science subjects as I have a very inquisitive mind and, at times, an experimental nature. I like using my hands as well as my brain – which leaves me moderately, to fairly well, accomplished in many things especially in DIY. One of my favourite programs on TV is QI (I admire Stephen Fry) as it shows that all is not as one believes it to be.

And now for the good points: I can be affectionate, tactile, and committed (“To an Asylum” – some would say!), all with a sense of humour!

One way of getting a good insight would be to read my Posts on the Threads as it's always a case of WYSIWYG.

(I might add a bit more here when I can think of something suitable!)

P.S. I have two grown up lads who do not live at home and I am currently trying to give up smoking!

How would I describe a potential partner?

I don't have a prescriptive view but someone who believes they can understand me – and more importantly, put up with me – would be a good prerequisite. High on the list, too, would be a capacity to share affection, tactility (Is that the right word?), commitment and other partnership enhancing attributes.

Thank you for reading my profile – will I hear from you?

Basic facts icon About me

I'm 73 years old and come from Lancashire in the United Kingdom. I'm divorced with two children. I'm 5' 6" tall and of average build. I'm a smoker and I drink occasionally. I'm here for dating, friendship and hobbies and interests.

Detailed facts icon My detailed facts

Hair colour White/grey
Hair style Straight
Eyes Other
Glasses For reading only
Facial hair Clean shaven
Tattoos None
Piercings None
Attractiveness Plain
Ethnicity White - British
Education College
Job Technical
Income Rather not say
Smoking Light cigarette smoker
Drinking Socially and sometimes at home
Drugs Never
Food Red meat all the way
Politics Not interested in politics
Religion Atheist
Practising Yes
Children 2
More children Not sure

Hobbies and interests icon My hobbies and interests

Cooking I enjoy it when somebody else does it!

When there's no-one to cook then it's a case of finding the quickest way to get protein into my system.
Shopping It's got to be done - so I do it - and then I reward myself for being a good boy.
DIY There's very little I can't do.
Housework I'm an untidy slob 'cause I'd rather be doing other things!
Dining out I like to eat out occasionally - if it's cheap enough.
Movies Rarely - I'd rather watch a DVD at home - which is rare too.
Theatre Rarely - as I'd prefer to go with a partner to share the experience.
Music Definitely Country music with a bit of Pop, Folk, Ballad, Rock thrown in for good measure - I sang in pubs and clubs in the North West for 25 years.
Gigs Too expensive - and crowded - and noisy - and too far away!
Pubs I'll go to a pub to meet someone but I would never frequent them on my own.
Clubbing You've gotta be kidding! No way!
Newspapers and magazines The only publication that I read regularly is Focus - a BBC publication centered around Science.
Books I read the occasional book but I have many reference books - can't beat them - great plots - well laid out - straight to the point - and educational too!
TV Only watch about 1- 2 hours per day and then only Sci-Fi or Documentaries.
Watching sport That's worse than clubbing - where's my vomit bag?
Playing sport I run, jump and skip!

Run out of breath,
Jump to conclusions, and
Skip my meals!
Hobbies I like to play the guitar - learning Shadows type instrumentals at the moment. I like spending time recording music, playing with my new DSLR Camera, and I am currently learning French.

Hopes and dreams icon My hopes and dreams

In ten years I see myself Alive - and NOT in Morecambe-by-the-mud!
Who would I invite to a dinner party? Jesus - to tell him that the world has enough religions!
A watchmaker - to find out what makes them tick!
Leonardo da Vinci
My ideal date 5th April 1948 - when I was born!
What would I never, ever give up? Thinking - well, until my last breath anyway.
If I had to give a speech on a subject I was passionate about ... The abuse of the words Poet and Poetry!
If I could visit anywhere in the world at any time in history Anywhere 100 years from now - to see how science has progressed without me!
If I had a million pounds to give to charity One that didn't rake off a percentage for 'overheads'.
My "and finally" section ... I'd like you to know that the best way to find out about me is to either stalk me in the Forum or the Commoner's Room - or just ask!

Email confirmed
Membership level
I've got the exclusive Diamond-level membership.

Last logged in
Updated profile
Membership points

Message icon Send message

Compose a message to Argonaut

Please log in to send me a message.

Forward icon Make contact with Argonaut. Join or login now.

Friendship icon My friends


Flighty stuff
Flighty stuff (6 photos)
My Flying Gallery
My Flying Gallery (6 photos)
Morecambe-on-the-mud (8 photos)
MACROS (21 photos)
I have got the BUG!
I have got the BUG! (11 photos)
Temporary (9 photos)
A stroll on Morecambe prom.
A stroll on Morecambe prom. (27 photos)
Oradour sur Glane
Oradour sur Glane (28 photos)
Sunday Stroll
Sunday Stroll (23 photos)
Miscellaneous (17 photos)
Le Grand Bourg Bash
Le Grand Bourg Bash (42 photos)
Maximus Dangly Thing!
Maximus Dangly Thing! (5 photos)