Help chapter Blocking

Help topic What is blocking?

Blocking is a way of limiting the contact you have with other members. There may be many reasons why you wish to block a member, for example you may feel they have been unfriendly towards you. Or you may not want to be contacted by groups of members such as those looking for dating.

Help topic How do I block a particular member?

There are two ways to block a particular member. From their profile page:

  • log in
  • locate the person's profile page
  • click the "Block" Block link
  • the member is now on your list of blocked members

From a message they have sent you:

  • log in
  • click on "My messages"
  • click on a message from the person you want to block
  • click the "Block sender" link
  • the member is now on your list of blocked members

Help topic What types of block can I use?

You can choose to place a one-way or two-way block on another member. One way blocks stop you from seeing the other members, but do not stop them from seeing you. With a two-way block, you cannot see them and they cannot see you either.

Help topic What are the effects of blocking?

When you block another member, their ability to interact with you and your likelihood of bumping into them on the site are severely restricted. The main effects are:

One-way blockTwo-way block
You cannot view their profileThey cannot view your profile page
You will not see messages in your Inbox or Deleted messages foldersThey will not see your messages in their Inbox or Deleted messages folders
You will not see messages sent to them in your Outbox or Deleted from Outbox folders They will not see messages sent to you in their Outbox or Deleted from Outbox folders
You will not be notified by email if they send you a new private message
You will not see them on your list of friendsThey will not see you on their list of friends
You will not see them on your list of favouritesThey will not see you on their list of favourites
You will not see them on your list of people who you have sent a wink or kiss to or voted clever, funny or attractiveThey will not see you on their lists
You will not see conversations started by them in the Conversations roomsThey cannot see or contribute to Conversations started by you
You will not see their contributions in the Conversations roomsThey can still see and reply to your Conversations contributions
You will not see them in simple searchesThey will not see you in simple searches
You will not see them in Search Plus+They will not see you in Search Plus+
You will not see them in your Who's Looking Basic listThey will not see you in Who's Looking Basic
You will not see them in your Who's Looking Plus+ listThey will not see you in Who's Looking Plus+
You will not see them in area searchesThey will not see you in area searches
You will not see them on your birthday listThey will not see you on birthday lists
You will not see groups led by them in your groups listsThey will not see groups led by you in their groups lists
You will not see them in tag searchesThey will not see you in tag searches
You will not see them when you browse tagsThey will not see you when they browse tags
You will not see them in name searchesThey will not see you in name searches
You will not see them on your messenger listThey will not see you on their messenger list
You will not see them in your Who's Online listThey will not see you in their Who's Online list
You will see them on your blocked members listThey will see you on their blocked members list

Help topic Does the other member know I have blocked them?

One-way blocking is a silent operation so the other member will not know you have blocked them. Two-way blocking will cause all your data to disappear from the blocked member's screen so they will know you have blocked them.

Help topic What is an admin block?

Occasionally site admin may place a block between two members. This is called an admin block and it is a two-way block, meaning both members are blocked from seeing and interacting with the other.

This is only done on rare occasions where admin feel that two members need to be separated to serve the best interests of the site.

Admin blocks are still visible to you on your "I've blocked" page but they cannot be removed.

Unlike normal blocks, admin blocks are not "blind". Both members will know they have been blocked from each other.

Help topic How do I unblock another member?

If you want to unblock a member, do this:

  • log in
  • click "My messages" on the main menu
  • click the "Blocked senders" link near the bottom of the page
  • click the "Delete" link next to the member you want to unblock

Help topic Group blocking

You can limit who can contact you according to what types of relationship they are looking for. For example, if you are looking for friendship you might not be interested in receiving messages from people looking for dating. You can set a group block on:

  • people who are looking for dating
  • people who are looking for friendship
  • people who are looking for hobbies and interests
  • people who are looking for business contacts

This type of blocking is called group blocking.

Help topic How do I set a group block?

To set or unset a block on groups of people, do this:

  • log in
  • click on "My options"
  • click on "Group blocking"
  • place ticks in the boxes according to who you want to block
  • click the "Update" button
  • those people you have blocked will no longer be able to send you a message

Help topic What are the effects of blocking groups of people?

Placing a block on a group of people prevents them from being able to send you a message from your profile page, as well as preventing them from making a friendship link, and sending hugs and kisses etc.

Unlike blocking individual members, group blocking does not stop people from seeing your profile. It does not stop them from replying to you if you have already sent them a message.


Help More help »

Back Back »